Getting rid of old grudges

Over the past couple of months I’ve found myself talking to people who (in the past) I didn’t like that much or might have even fought with. But now, when I see them doing well I’m genuinely happy for them. I didn’t think I would be. But I am. And that makes me realise how far I’ve come. I’ve long forgotten or forgiven them (and myself) for petty little things which felt so important back then. But they weren’t. Reminds me of how immature I was.

Seeing someone do better than me and feel jealous or that I should do better is definitely not in my mindset anymore. Now I just feel happy, tell them so it makes them happy too, and then move on. Like a little happy virus! (pun intended)

Even for those who I might still be a bit iffy with, I know it might take some time for me to feel this way about them. So for now I’ll just keep my distance, focus on myself and then one day I’ll find myself going back to them and hopefully have something positive to say (and be genuinely happy for their achievements)

I’m glad I’ve grown into someone I’m proud of. Someone who’s not going to feel low or inferior since we’re all running our own race. And I hope this reminds you to slow down too.

Thanks for reading! Xx

4 thoughts on “Getting rid of old grudges

Leave a comment